Buzz and Flow

Do you like the challenge of being dropped into the deep end and coming out successful? Do you admire adventurers who conquer steep mountains and sail around the world all alone? Do you like the buzz of winning the highest price? Maybe even simple things like winning £10 on a scratch ticket? Then you are probably an extrovert.

Introverts are more likely to go for the flow than for the buzz. Personally, I hate the sink-or-swim situations. It used to give me very bad self-esteem after struggling through assignments not knowing what the heck I was doing. As an adult I have realized that the low self-esteem after these situations are very unfair on myself. Most of the time, I do come out of it, having completed what was asked of me, if not to my own satisfaction then at least the everyone else’s. With that said, any sink-or-swim situation I’ve had to get through has left me with the feeling of: “Great, that’s done. Now let’s NEVER do that again.” I’m sure extroverts react differently.

What I like the best is, for example when I write, I get so into what I’m doing that, suddenly, time and space does not exist. The words just keep coming and sometimes it’s even difficult to keep pace with the words trumbling out of my head. I’m not aware of what is happening around me, I don’t notice sounds, the day can shift from day to evening and I don’t notice. I could miss my lunch and forget I’m thirsty. I’ll just keep writing until the flow is gone. Then I look up and it’s hours since I last ate something, the sun has gone down and I’m bursting to go to the loo.

I’m sure introverts and extroverts experience both buzz and flow moments in their lives but how we react to them is different. I always seek the flow moments, whether I’m writing, at work or just going for a walk. That elevated state of functioning has been part of some of the greatest moments of my life. The buzz moments however I quite easily forget. The kind of pushing yourself beyong your preceived limits that produces the buzz feeling, I’m sure, means a lot more to an extrovert than it does to me but perhaps they don’t value the flow of the moment the way I do.

Your thoughts on this would be much appreciated. Are you a flow or a buzz person? Are you an introvert or an extrovert? Does it correspond?

Leave a Reply

